TLDR: After spending lots of time on platforms like LinkedIn and Dev.to, I just feel Instagram is overrated. Scrolling through memes the whole day just kills your time, and should be spending it on something productive. (no offense to Instagram :p)

A few months back, I started my day with Instagram and ended with it. Updating stories, making posts, commenting on posts, sharing memes, and whatnot.

I just loved the kind of validation I got from that app. I should rather say I got addicted to instant gratification.

It was until one day when the panic monster hit me and realized how much time have I really got and how I was spending it. I had a lot to catch up before I face the reality of life. That was the day I decided to change myself. Broke that barrier in my life that was not letting me grow.

It was hard initially to not open that app and check for notifications every few minutes. I overcame that, and I am glad about it.

That was the time I started exploring a few other platforms like dev.to and Linkedin. I loved how the people on these platforms were helping each other grow, and I should say I am addicted to these. (in a good way :p)

Today, I barely open Instagram and don't care as much as I used to do. I have overcome my craving for instant gratification and have started to work on my long term goals (for delayed gratification) that will one day be all worth it.

if Instagram is not overrated, then why do people end up using it for hours when instead they can be doing something else that could be more productive?

What do you think?

This post is also available on DEV.